Dr.Mahesh Desai was the Chairman of the Department of Urology at Muljibhai Patel Urological Hospital since 1983 till 12th June, 2010. He is the Managing Trustee of MPUH and Honorary Managing Director of Muljibhai Patel Society for Research in Nephro-Urology since 16th February, 2001, Medical Director of MPUH since 12th June, 2010 till 2016 and the Director of the Jayaramdas Patel Academic Center.    

750 scientific papers, 230 workshops, published 174 scientific papers in national & international journals and contributed in more than 32 books.

Dr B C Roy the highest award from the President of India was bestowed for the year 2000. Dr. Mahesh Desai’s wide experience and skills have resulted in his being elected as a member of American Association of Genito-Urinary Surgeons. He is the first Indian to have this honor. He was also the first Indian to deliver a Guest Lecture in the plenary session of American Urological Association’s Annual Conference held at Chicago on 30th April, 2003. Under his leadership India hosted, for the first time, Video Urology Conference in the year 2000 and the World Congress on Endourology, in November, 2004 at Mumbai.
He was the first Indian to have been bestowed upon the American College of Surgeons Fellowship in the year 2015.

  • President, Urological Society of India (2006-2007).
  • President, Asian Society of Endourology (2008 -  2012).
  • President, Society International d’Urologie (SIU) (October, 2011 - 2012).
  • President: World Endourology Society (2012 – 2013)
  • St Paul,s Medal British Association of Urological Surgeons. 2012
  • American Urological Association Citation 2012.
  • Qimpro Platinum Statesman Award in Healthcare Sector 2012
  • Hon Membership: Urological Society of Australasia and New Zealand.
  • Hon Membership: Singapore Urological Association
  • Hon Membership: Chinese Urological Association.
  • Richard Tiptaft Visiting Professorship, Guy’s Hospital. UK
  • Life Time Achievement Award. 2014 Endourology Society.
  • Hon. Membership: Urological Association of Asia
  • Indian American Urological Association: Presidents Award 2017
  • Felix Guyon Award 2016 by SIU