Professor Seiji Naito graduated from Kumamoto University, Kumamoto, Japan in 1994. He earned his Medical Degree in Kyushu University, Fukuoka, Japan in 1980. From 1984 to 1986, he studied abroad as a Visiting Assistant Professor of the Department of Urology and Cell Biology at M.D. Anderson Hospital, University of Texas, Houston, USA. From 1998 to 2015, he served as a Professor and Chairman of the Department of Urology, Graduate School of Medical Sciences, Kyushu University. After retirement from Kyushu University in 2015, he has been serving as the Emeritus Professor of Kyushu University and the Emeritus Director of Harasanshin Hospital, Fukuoka, Japan.

Professor Naito served as the President of the Japanese Society of Endourology and ESWL (JSE) from 2006 to 2008. From 2004 to 2015, he also served as a Secretary General of the East Asian Society of Endourology (EASE), and hosted the 8th Annual Meeting of the EASE at Kyoto, Japan in 2011. He served as the President of the Japanese Urological Association (JUA) and Editor-in-Chief of the International Journal of Urology (IJU) from 2009 to 2011 and also from 2013 to 2015. He served as the Chairman of the Local Organizing Committee of the 32nd Congress of the Société Internationale d’Urologie (SIU), which was held at his home city, Fukuoka, Japan in 2012. He served as a member of the board of director of both the Endourological Society and the SIU from 2012 to 2016 and 2012 to 2017, respectively. He has been an honorary member of the American Urological Association (AUA), the European Association of Urology, the JUA and the JSE since 2011, 2014, 2015 and 2016, respectively. He served as the president of the SIU from 2015 to 2016, and is now contributing as the past-president.

Prof. Naito received the Association Francaise d’Urologie Félix Guyon Medal, AUA Presidential Citation Award and Karl Storz Lifetime Achievement Award in 2010, 2012 and 2016, respectively..

Professor Naito has published over 600 peer-reviewed articles in the field of urology with special focus on uro-oncology, endourology and minimally invasive therapy.